Skip to main content

What is the SQFCGF and its purpose?


Sectoral qualifications framework for coast guard functions (SQFCGF) is a tool for the development and classification of qualifications - defined by learning outcomes - related to Coast Guard Functions sector.   

It is a voluntary framework to framework for describing what qualification holders are expected to know, understand and be able to do at certain levels, in order to perform tasks related to coast guard functions. These descriptions are called learning outcomes. 

This means that knowledge, skills, and competences are described in a common language. 

The SQFCGF is an inclusive framework that is meant for all kinds of organisations performing maritime duties. 

The SQFCGF contributes to: 

  • Better understanding of the levels of qualifications within different training systems and comparability of qualifications 
  • Mutual recognition of qualifications, but does not make it automatic
  • Increases mobility and supports the creation of Erasmus-like training programmes 
  • Development of joint courses and programmes
  • Interoperability by enabling the employment of multinational and multifunctional crew 
  • Life-long learning of personnel
  • Improvement of training related cooperation and especially within the framework of the Coast Guard Functions Training Network. 


  • Prescribe national training
  • Result in automatic recognition of qualifications
  • Prescribe standards of training.

Learning outcomes

The SQFSGF is based on learning outcomes. The learning outcomes are descriptions of skills, knowledge and competences that the learner is expected to know, understand and to do in order to perform tasks related to CGF.

Learning outcomes are defined in abstract terms and they don't refer to any specific qualification, organisation or training pathway. They are neutral in regard to academic, professional or vocational training and do not prescribe on what level different types of qualifications should be placed.

Learning outcomes are drafted for each coast guard function, apart from maritime border guarding covered by the SQF developed by Frontex. Learning outcomes are described at each level (4 - 7) to reflect the progress of learning.

Examples of learning outcomes

These examples of learning outcomes are drafted for the function maritime safety. They are chosen from different levels.


  • Outline principles of ship's organisation and working arrangements. (Level 4)
  • Define and distinguish a range of information and data handling systems relevant to maritime safety. (Level 6)


  • Selectively apply concepts of maritime transport and trade to handle a range of maritime safety activities. (Level 6)
  • Manage relations with foreign national competent authorities. (Level 7)


  • Effectively apply health and safety procedures for own safety. (Level 4)
  • Ensure standards and conditions for issuing of maritime related certificates. (Level 7)

Relevant documents